It’s better than I ever even knew

(Listen)

Hi sweetpeas!

Today I have a few things to go over, with lots of pictures so please make sure you click on the thumbnails/smaller pictures and look at the details.  I have a new piercing shop to introduce to you, new hairs to show you, and my honest review of hair fair 2012.

Firstly, a new piercing shop has been brought to my attention.  It is called Ivy, and the creator is Ary McAuley.  I was passed a couple piercings from this store by Ary (who by the way is a total sweetheart).  The piercings that I was given to try out are called Juno and Maiko, and neither disappoint.  I have worn both in the pictures below to show you how they look.  They were very easy to adjust to my shape and came with an awesome Hud that lets you change the gem colors, metal colors, and turn the shadows on or off.

The piercings in order are of Juno, the first picture with shadows, and the second and third pictures displaying the piercing without shadows and changing the colors up.  The last picture is of Maiko, with shadows, and then of course a picture of the Hud that I screen captured.  As you can see, the hud is easy to read and easy to use.  I just love the textures and simplicity of these piercings, so please go give the store a look!

ONWARD!

Okay.  My honest review of Hair Fair 2012 (I know you’re all breathless with anticipation).  I really am not trying to offend a single creator when I say that I was extremely disappointed with Hair Fair, but that is how I felt.  Disappointed.

Firstly – I have basically every damn hair in SL.  I am a complete hair whore with no real life and I vicariously live through the amazing hair days that my avatar has.  Never is a lock out of place, never does she have a dye job gone bad, and while sometimes her hairs go through her boobs, she manages to make even THAT look pretty damn stellar.  With that said, I suppose I’m just a tough crowd these days.  I was so excited for hair fair because I wanted an excuse to spend tons of $L.  Then I started watching the flickr feeds…

Secondly – I don’t know how some bloggers blog shit that they have to know does NOT look good.  I get that sometimes we get passed things, and that’s SO nice of the creators to do (thank you thank you thank you from the bottom of my heart), but honestly I am getting sick of watching some bloggers peddle things to consumers as if it’s all magnificent.  It’s not.  Sometimes I look at things that my FAVORITE creators make and I think to myself “What were you thinking?  Go back to your other shit it was better!” and I refuse to blog it when that happens because I feel like I’m being dishonest to the people who read my blog.  And the sad part for me is that a lot of these creators typically make the most amazing hair on the grid, these creators are people I make purchases from on a regular basis.  That is why I feel like it’s my right to be honest.

With that said, I bought four hairs, from two stores.  I will most likely go back, but the reason why I only bought these four is because 1. They were, without a doubt, the best and my favorites, and the only ones I was willing to fight the lag to buy.

Burley, which I did not see at the hair fair, had a brand new release that I was MORE than happy to pick up, and I have blogged that along with my hair fair spoils.

Please note that the Burley hair now comes in a magnate roots edition, which can be purchased by GROUP MEMBERS ONLY.  Right now (or at least when I purchased this hair two days ago) the group was only $50 to join. Underpriced and totally worth it if you ask me.  So I displayed the same hair twice, in my normal black and then in the new color addition.  The new roots pack is simply fabulous!

Lastly, here’s my look of the day.  All these new Plastik releases are seriously making me happy in the panties.  These mesh tanks are absolutely to die for.  Deets to follow.

Details:

Skin: Glam Affair – Giselle – Natural – 06 (get it at Sent to Destroy!)
Hair: Burley – Diana (new!)
Eyes: Insufferable Dastard – Shine Eyes – Light Brown
Lashes: LeLutka – 2011 Lashes
Cosmetics: Koketka – 51, The Sugar Garden – Bad Bitch Brows
Piercings: Ivy – Maiko
Tattoo: Reckless – Love
Tank: Plastik – Schizm Tanks – Cage (new!)
Shorts: Cynful – Zia Denim Short – Black
Shoes: Slink – Shaz Platform – Black Denim

I hope you all enjoyed!

xx – Alex

One thought on “It’s better than I ever even knew

  1. miamisery says:

    youre not the only one this year hair fair was not how i expected it to be :(

Leave a Reply

